Beethoven’s Quarter Millennial-Virtual Concert Series Early Sonatas

Mon, Apr 5
Sigal Music Museum
516 Buncombe St, Greenville, SC 29601, USA
Sigal Music Museum

Sigal Music Museum and pianist, Zack Hughes have come together to celebrate the 250th birthday of Ludwig van Beethoven. Beethoven’s work has withstood the test of time and echoes of his famous hooks are heard in contemporary music spanning across genres. To celebrate what would have been his 250th birthday, Sigal Music Museum is presenting a virtual concert series featuring a young Beethoven enthusiast, Zack Hughes. Classically trained at The Julliard School, Zack Hughes will perform Beethoven’s 32 Sonatas over the course of 32 weeks from the Sigal Music Museum in Greenville, South Carolina. The series will highlight modern instruments made by Steinway and Feurich, as well as historical instruments made by Stein, Broadwood, and Walter – all located at Sigal Music Museum. Debuting on Facebook and YouTube every Monday at 11AM.
Early Sonatas:
Piano Sonata No. 1 in F minor
Piano Sonata No. 2 in A major
Piano Sonata No. 3 in C major
Piano Sonata No. 4 in E-flat major (“Grand Sonata”)
Piano Sonata No. 5 in C minor
Piano Sonata No. 6 in F major
Piano Sonata No. 7 in D major
Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor (“Pathétique
Piano Sonata No. 9 in E major (Also arranged for String Quartet in F major (H 34) in 1801)
Piano Sonata No. 10 in G major
Piano Sonata No. 11 in B-flat major
Piano Sonata No. 12 in A-flat major (“Funeral March”)
Piano Sonata No. 13 in E-flat major ‘Sonata quasi una fantasia’
Piano Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp minor ‘Sonata quasi una fantasia’ (“Moonlight”)
Piano Sonata No. 15 in D major (“Pastoral”)
Piano Sonata No. 19 in G minor
Piano Sonata No. 20 in G major