Calendar of Events

Aug
20
Wed
2014
South Carolina State Museum : The American Revolutionary War in South Carolina
Aug 20 – Aug 21 all-day

South Carolina State Museum :


Opens May 24
This new changing exhibit will examine the major role that South Carolina played in the Revolutionary War, where over 200 engagements (battles and skirmishes) took place, more than any other colony during the war.  The exhibit, made possible by a grant from the South Carolina Humanities Council, is part of the State Museum’s Traveling Exhibits Program and will be available to travel to other venues starting September 2014.

South Carolina State Museum

301 Gervais St

Columbia , SC

29201

(803) 898-4921

http://www.museum.state.sc.us/

South Carolina State Museum Exhibit : The Civil War in South Carolina: Naval Warfare
Aug 20 – Aug 21 all-day

South Carolina State Museum :

Expansion
Opens May 30
The State Museum’s expanding Civil War in South Carolina exhibit is getting a facelift. New updates to the exhibit will focus on the coast of South Carolina, specifically Port Royal, Charleston and the Union blockade of Charleston Harbor. Visitors will see small things that were used in everyday life during the war, including a pipe bowl owned by one of the Drayton brothers and a small secession flag, as well as larger artifacts such as ordnance (ammunition) from several types of cannons and mortars used to defend the coast.

South Carolina State Museum

301 Gervais St

Columbia , SC

29201

(803) 898-4921

http://www.museum.state.sc.us/

Upcountry History Museum : The Amazing Castle
Aug 20 – Aug 21 all-day

 

Upcountry History Museum :

The Amazing Castle

June 28 – September 28, 2014

Amazing Castle

Sparking imagination, The Amazing Castle, an immersive hands-on exhibit, introduces audiences to medieval history.  Visitors step back in time to explore life in a medieval castle village, and learn about the importance of the interconnectedness of individuals in a community.  The roles of lords and ladies, knights, the court jester and castle villagers are explored through hands-on learning.

Upcountry History Museum

540 Buncombe St

Greenville, SC

29601

(864) 467-3100

http://www.upcountryhistory.org/

Upcountry History Museum Exhibit : Star Spangled History
Aug 20 – Aug 21 all-day

 

Upcountry History Museum Exhibit :

Star Spangled History: The 200th Anniversary of Our National Anthem

May 17 – September 17, 2014

Star Spangled History

This exhibit commemorates the War of 1812 and the siege of Fort McHenry – the site that inspired Francis Scott Key to write what would become the Star Spangled Banner. Visitors can delve deeper into the War of 1812, see how Key’s poem became our national anthem, and learn the fascinating history of the country’s famous flag.

Upcountry History Museum

540 Buncombe St

Greenville, SC

29601

(864) 467-3100

http://www.upcountryhistory.org/

Greenville Drive vs The Charleston River Dogs
Aug 20 @ 7:00 pm


Greenville Drive vs The Charleston River Dogs

 

August 19th, 20th & 21st @ 705p

Flour Field

945 S Main St

Greenville, SC

(864) 240-4500

http://www.milb.com/index.jsp?sid=t428

South Carolina BLUE Reedy River Concert : True Blues
Aug 20 @ 7:00 pm – Aug 20 @ 9:00 pm

South Carolina BLUE

Reedy River Concert : True Blues

Bring your lawn chairs and a picnic supper and sit back and enjoy a variety of musical concerts featuring jazz, country, patriotic, rock & roll, blues and reggae, from 7-9 pm, on the TD Stage at the Peace Center. This free, outdoor family event provides the perfect way to spend a warm summer night.

August 20

True BluesTrue Blues (Blues)

True Blues has become a Greenville and Upstate South Carolina mainstay since its inception in 1990. They started as a power trio with Joey Gunter on guitar and vocals, Pete Cash on bass, and Pete’s brother Joe Cash on drums. In 2003, they added Bill Pappas from Athens, GA on keyboards and guitar. Members of the band write about half of the material they play, which ranges from straight-ahead blues, to rockin’ Texas style blues, to jazzy blues, to songs that can be categorized only as original “True Blues”. In addition, they cover songs by B. B. King, The Allman Brothers Band, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and others.

 

SC Blue Reedy Concert

101 W Broad St

Greenville, SC 29601

http://www.greenvillesc.gov/PublicInfo_Events/RRNCS.aspx

Flat Rock Playhouse : The Mystery of Irma Vep
Aug 20 @ 8:00 pm


Flat Rock Playhouse :

Boyd Chevrolet Cadillac Buick and Horizon Heating and Air present:

The Mystery of Irma Vep

by Charles Ludlam

August 14 – September 14

Playhouse Downtown

In the tradition of the Greater Tuna series, two actors rush through a series of quick changes, accents and genders to bring you this fast-paced farce. Set on the dark moors in England’s Victorian era, this hilarious comedy was first staged by New York’s Theatre of The Ridiculous and stars Scott Treadway and Preston Dyar.

Flat Rock Playhouse

2661 Greenville Hwy

Flat Rock, NC 28731

(828) 693.0731

https://www.flatrockplayhouse.org/

Flat Rock Playhouse : Miss Saigon
Aug 20 @ 8:00 pm


Flat Rock Playhouse :

First Citizens Bank presents:

Miss Saigon

Music by Claude-Michel Schönberg; Lyrics by Richard Maltby, Jr. and Alain Boublil

July 24 – August 24

The Clyde and Nina Allen Mainstage

Broadway’s international hit musical is based on Puccini’s Madame Butterfly. The story takes place during the upheaval of war in Viet Nam in the late 1960s and early 1970s and follows the lives of American GI—Chris, and the young, innocent, Vietnamese girl—Kim, during the turmoil and aftermath of this tumultuous era. The musical–by the creators of last season’s Les Miserables, won several Tony and Oliver Awards including two for its stars Lea Salonga and Jonathan Pryce. See this epic saga unfold on our stage this summer.

Flat Rock Playhouse

2661 Greenville Hwy

Flat Rock, NC 28731

(828) 693.0731

https://www.flatrockplayhouse.org/

Aug
21
Thu
2014
South Carolina State Museum : The American Revolutionary War in South Carolina
Aug 21 – Aug 22 all-day

South Carolina State Museum :


Opens May 24
This new changing exhibit will examine the major role that South Carolina played in the Revolutionary War, where over 200 engagements (battles and skirmishes) took place, more than any other colony during the war.  The exhibit, made possible by a grant from the South Carolina Humanities Council, is part of the State Museum’s Traveling Exhibits Program and will be available to travel to other venues starting September 2014.

South Carolina State Museum

301 Gervais St

Columbia , SC

29201

(803) 898-4921

http://www.museum.state.sc.us/

South Carolina State Museum Exhibit : The Civil War in South Carolina: Naval Warfare
Aug 21 – Aug 22 all-day

South Carolina State Museum :

Expansion
Opens May 30
The State Museum’s expanding Civil War in South Carolina exhibit is getting a facelift. New updates to the exhibit will focus on the coast of South Carolina, specifically Port Royal, Charleston and the Union blockade of Charleston Harbor. Visitors will see small things that were used in everyday life during the war, including a pipe bowl owned by one of the Drayton brothers and a small secession flag, as well as larger artifacts such as ordnance (ammunition) from several types of cannons and mortars used to defend the coast.

South Carolina State Museum

301 Gervais St

Columbia , SC

29201

(803) 898-4921

http://www.museum.state.sc.us/

Upcountry History Museum : The Amazing Castle
Aug 21 – Aug 22 all-day

 

Upcountry History Museum :

The Amazing Castle

June 28 – September 28, 2014

Amazing Castle

Sparking imagination, The Amazing Castle, an immersive hands-on exhibit, introduces audiences to medieval history.  Visitors step back in time to explore life in a medieval castle village, and learn about the importance of the interconnectedness of individuals in a community.  The roles of lords and ladies, knights, the court jester and castle villagers are explored through hands-on learning.

Upcountry History Museum

540 Buncombe St

Greenville, SC

29601

(864) 467-3100

http://www.upcountryhistory.org/

Upcountry History Museum Exhibit : Star Spangled History
Aug 21 – Aug 22 all-day

 

Upcountry History Museum Exhibit :

Star Spangled History: The 200th Anniversary of Our National Anthem

May 17 – September 17, 2014

Star Spangled History

This exhibit commemorates the War of 1812 and the siege of Fort McHenry – the site that inspired Francis Scott Key to write what would become the Star Spangled Banner. Visitors can delve deeper into the War of 1812, see how Key’s poem became our national anthem, and learn the fascinating history of the country’s famous flag.

Upcountry History Museum

540 Buncombe St

Greenville, SC

29601

(864) 467-3100

http://www.upcountryhistory.org/

Anderson County Farmers Market
Aug 21 @ 8:00 am – 1:00 pm

Anderson County Farmers Market

Listing AppalachiangrownThe Anderson County Farmer’s Market showcases the best home grown products Anderson County has to offer. Specializing in local produce, meats, cheeses, breads, plants and so much more. The Market is open three days a week and host numerous special events. PLEASE NOTE: Market ONLY open on SATURDAYS 10 am – 2 pm from May 3 – May 31, and from November 29 – December 20, 2013.

Hours

Headquarters Library : Rockin Babies
Aug 21 @ 10:00 am

 

     

  

Headquarters Library :

Rockin Babies infant – 3 years old Thursday 10:00 AM

151 S Church St

Spartanburg, SC 29306

(864)596-3500

Hours:

Mon-Fri – 9am to 9pm

Sat – 9am to 6pm

Sun – 1:30pm to 6pm

Headquarters Library : Tiny Bubbles Preschoolers
Aug 21 @ 10:00 am

 

     

  

Headquarters Library :

Tiny Bubbles Preschoolers 3 – 5 years old Thursday 10:00 AM

151 S Church St

Spartanburg, SC 29306

(864)596-3500

Hours:

Mon-Fri – 9am to 9pm

Sat – 9am to 6pm

Sun – 1:30pm to 6pm

Landrum Library : Lap Baby Storytime
Aug 21 @ 10:00 am


Landrum Library :

Lap Baby Storytime
infant – 3 years old Thursday 10:00 AM

 

111 Asbury Dr

Landrum, SC 29356

(864)457-2218

 

Hours:

Mon, Tues, Thurs – 9am to 8pm

Wed, Fri – 9am to 6pm

Sat – 9am to 2pm

Boiling Springs Library : Playful Preschoolers Story Time
Aug 21 @ 10:30 am

 


Boiling Springs Library :

Playful Preschoolers Story Time 3 – 4 years old Thursday 10:30 AM

871 Double Bridge Rd

Boiling Springs, SC 29316

(864)578-3665

Hours:

Mon, Tues, Thurs – 10am to 8pm

Wed, Fri, Sat – 10am to 6pm

Sun – 1:30pm to 6pm

Landrum Library : Preschool Storytime
Aug 21 @ 10:30 am


Landrum Library :

Preschool Storytime
3 – 6 years old Thursday 10:30 AM

 

111 Asbury Dr

Landrum, SC 29356

(864)457-2218

 

Hours:

Mon, Tues, Thurs – 9am to 8pm

Wed, Fri – 9am to 6pm

Sat – 9am to 2pm

Storytime at Fiction Addiction @ Fiction Addiction
Aug 21 @ 10:30 am

Fiction Addiction Storytime

Fiction Addiction hosts a free children’s storytime at our shop at 1175 Woods Crossing Rd. #5 every Thursday morning at 10:30am.

 

Visit : fictionaddiction.com

Fiction Addiction : Book Your Lunch With Carolyn Dingman
Aug 21 @ 12:00 pm

Fiction Addiction :

Book Your Lunch With Carolyn Dingman

08/21/2014 – 12:00PM

While returning her mother’s ashes to her small Georgia hometown, Olivia rights a long-standing wrong and learns to trust her own heart to decide whether the wedding is on or off. Carolyn Dingman’s debut novel, Cancel the Wedding (Harper, paperback, $15.99, on sale 8/5/14), is perfect for fans of Karen White and Patti Callahan Henry. $35 tickets includes a $10 book voucher; $41.95 tickets include one copy of Cancel the Wedding. The author will speak for 20 minutes, take Q&A from the audience, and after lunch she will sign books.

Fiction Addiction

1175 Woods Crossing Rd #5

Greenville, SC

29607

(864) 675-0540

http://www.fiction-addiction.com/